George Wahl Muskie Tournament 2021 Final Standings

Tournament Home :: Registration :: Rules :: AIS/Boat Inspections :: Partner Finder :: Final Standings

FINAL STANDINGS: 2022 :: 2021 :: 2020 :: 2019 :: 2018 :: 2017 :: 2016 :: 2015 :: 2014

An overcast morning produced a flurry of activity in the George Wahl Memorial Muskie Tournament on Saturday, September 25. Once the sun came out, fishing activity slowed down. In all, fifteen anglers registered seventeen muskies 40 inches or over.

Big winner of the day was Junior Division winner, 8-year-old Finley Boomer who caught a 52.5-inch muskie from Lake Waconia, the longest fish in the tournament. Finley took home a plaque that has space for her picture of the fish as well as an Eagle Tail lure, a $50 Thorne Bros. gift card, as well as an additional $50 gift card from Thorne Bros. from their $50-fo-50-inch program. As a one-time-only award, Thorne Bros. also gave her a custom Thorne Bros. rod with her name on the rod.

Austin Gates earned the most points in the tournament with two Lake Minnetonka muskies, 42 and 50.5 inches. Austin is from Wisconsin and it was only his second time muskie fishing in Minnesota. In addition to a plaque, an Eagle Tail lure (George Wahl was the inventor and manufacturer of Eagle Tails), and Thorne Bros. gift card received by the top five finishers, Austin received a $1000 check for first place as well as an additional $50-for-50-inch Thorne Bros. gift card.

Second place winner was Chris Fusco with a 42.5 and 40 inch muskies from Lake Harriet. Second place finish earned him a $500 check. Gary Gilbertson with a 45-inch muskie won third place. He received a $250 check for the third place finish.

Every person who registered a muskie and was at the awards program was entered in the Grand Prize drawing for a trip for 4 to Whitefish Bay Camp on Lake of the Woods and $500. Grand Prize winner was Grant Jerich who registered his muskie shortly before fishing ended.

One hundred percent of the proceeds from this event goes towards our local metro-area muskie fishery. Thank you to all who participated in the 2021 tournament and helped contribute a little to the fishery.


1Austin Gates42, 50.532.5Minnetonka
2Chris Fusco42.5, 4022.5Harriet
3Gary Gilbertson4515Minnetonka
4Josh Hawke4414Minnetonka
5Keegan Mcintosh4414Independence
6Jim Harmon43.513.5Minnetonka
7Matt McDonald4313Minnetonka
8Dustin Nystel4313Bald Eagle
9Grant Jerich4313Minnetonka
10Ryan Connelly42.512.5Harriet
11Ethan Stout42.512.5Minnetonka
12Todd Lindberg4111Bald Eagle
13Jamie Zapatero40.510.5Independence
14Alec Wieker4010Minnetonka


1Finley Boomer 52.522.5Waconia