George Wahl Muskie Tournament 2017 Final Standings

FINAL STANDINGS: 2020 :: 2019 :: 2018 :: 2017 :: 2016 :: 2015 :: 2014

A warm day of nearly 90 degrees greeted the 150+ anglers who participated in the 9th Annual George Wahl Memorial Tournament. Eleven muskies were registered by 10 anglers. The majority of fish were caught before 10 am and the final three fish were called in just before the 5:30 pm end of the tournament.

Prizes were awarded to the top five anglers in the tournament. Each winner received an Eagle Tail lure (George Wahl was the inventor of the Eagle Tail), $50 Thorne Bros. gift card, a commemorative Sinister lure created by Todd Cleveland, and a plaque. 

Joe Tuma, the 2015 and 2016 winner of the tournament, repeated his first place win again with two muskies – 47.5 and 40.5 inches – from Forest Lake. In addition to the other prizes, Joe was presented with a $1000 check.

Second place winner was Paul Kramer who registered a 48.75-incher from White Bear Lake, the longest fish registered for the day. Paul received a $500 check. Sadie Maas, with a 47.5-inch muskie from Minnetonka that was caught just a few minutes before the tournament ended,  finished in third place. She received a $250 check for third place and was also awarded the Mary Villnow Ladies Bonus.

The day ended with a feed at Thorne Bros. The Awards program culminated with the Grand Prize drawing. Every person who registered a muskie was entered in the drawing. Winner of a trip for 4 to Whitefish Bay Camp on Lake of the Woods and $500 was Mike Johnson. 

The muskie anglers who spent the day fishing contributed a little something toward our metro-area muskie fishery by participating in the George Wahl Memorial Muskie Tourna-ment. One hundred percent of the proceeds will be put back into the local metro-area muskie fishery. 

Funds raised at the George Wahl Memorial Muskie Tournament have enabled the Twin Cities chapter to purchase and stock close to 10,000 muskie fingerlings in White Bear Lake, Bald Eagle Lake, Lake Independence, Lake Waconia, Lake Minnetonka, and the St. Croix River over the past several years. The chapter has also been able to provide funds to the Minnesota DNR to purchase equipment for their hatcheries and to provide pit and floy tags for their studies on stocking.

2017 Final Standings

1Joe Tuma47.5, 40.528Forest Lake
2Paul Kramer48.7518.75White Bear
3Sadie Maas47.517.5Minnetonka
4Dan Klepsa44.514.5Harriet
5Shawn Johnson4313Harriet
6Mike Johnson4212Minnetonka
7Greg Kappes41.511.5Harriet
8Erik Jorgenson41.511.5Forest Lake
9Dawson Johnson40.510.5Harriet
10Brandon Guimont4010White Bear