George Wahl Muskie Tournament 2014 Final Standings

FINAL STANDINGS: 2020 :: 2019 :: 2018 :: 2017 :: 2016 :: 2015 :: 2014

Eighteen muskies were registered during the 6th annual George Wahl Memorial Muskie Tournament.

The warm, sunny weather with temperatures over 80 degrees made fishing somewhat difficult. Many participants reported seeing a lot of fish, but not being able to boat them. Of the 14 anglers who registered muskies, three had multiples. 

Winner of the tournament was Dan Altmann who registered three fish from Lake Harriet, the biggest a 46.5-incher. He walked away with a $500 check in addition to the $50 Thorne Bros. gift card, a commemorative Phantom lure ­created by Todd Cleveland, and a shadow-box plaque that each of the top ten anglers received. 

Second place angler, Chris Fusco, was also fishing Harriet and registered 42.5-inch and 40.5-inch muskies. Third place winner, Michael Johnson registered a 51-inch fish from Lake Minnetonka, his first-ever muskie. Nathan Buth, fourth place winner also doubled with 40.5 and 40-inch muskies from Forest Lake. Fifth place winner, Dean Roll, turned in the second biggest fish at 50.5-inches. Cash prizes of $400, $300, $200 and $100 were paid out to the second through fifth place winners. 

The day ended with a pork chop feed at Thorne Bros. The Awards Program culminated with the Grand Prize drawing. Every person who registered a muskie was entered in the drawing. Winner of a trip for 4 to Whitefish Bay Camp on Lake of the Woods and $1000 was Chris Sicard.  

Over 160 muskie anglers contributed a little something toward our metro-area muskie fishery by participating in the George Wahl Memorial Muskie Tourna­ment.

2014 Final Standings

1Dan Altman41.5, 46.5, 45.543.5Harriet
2Chris Fusco42.5, 40.523White Bear
3Michael Johnson5121Minnetonka
4Nate Buth40.5, 4020.5Forest
5Dean Roll50.520.5Minnetonka
6Mitch Carlson4717Forest
7Matthew Meyer45.515.5Minnetonka
8Mark Kuether4414Forest
9Shawn Johnson42.512.5Forest
10Ben Collette4212Bald Eagle
11Matthew Lodin4212Minnetonka
12Greg Kappes41.511.5Minnetonka
13Chris Sicard4010White Bear
14James Beheba4010White Bear