George Wahl Muskie Tournament 2016 Final Standings

FINAL STANDINGS: 2020 :: 2019 :: 2018 :: 2017 :: 2016 :: 2015 :: 2014

The 176 muskie anglers who spent the day fishing contributed a little something toward our metro-area muskie fishery by participating in the 2016 George Wahl Memorial Muskie Tourna­ment. Twenty muskies were registered by 18 anglers. 

Joe Tuma who was the 2015 winner repeated his first place win with two muskies – 44 and 45.5 inches – from Forest Lake. Joe walked away with a $1000 check in addition to the a Eagle Tail lure, $50 Thorne Bros. gift card, a commemorative Sinister lure ­created by Todd Cleveland, and a plaque that each of the top five anglers received. 

Second and third place fish both came from White Bear Lake. Second place winner Dustan Forschen registered a 48.5-incher, the longest fish registered for the day. In addition to the Eagle Tail, Sinister lure, $50 Thorne Bros gift card, Dustan received a $500 check. David Rask with a 46.5-inch muskie finished in third place. He received a $250 check. 

Dawson Johnson, with a 40 and  41-inch muskies from Lake Harriet, placed first in the Junior Division. 

A Ladies Bonus, given in honor of Mary Villnow, was won by Sadie Maas with a 42-inch muskie from Minnetonka. 

The day ended with a feed at Thorne Bros. The Awards Program culminated with the Grand Prize drawing. Every person who registered a muskie was entered in the drawing. Winner of a trip for 4 to Whitefish Bay Camp on Lake of the Woods and $500 was unable to take the trip and auctioned it off to all those who were at the feed. The ultimate winner of the trip was Terry Schar.  

2016 Final Standings

1Joe Tuma44, 45.529.5Forest Lake
2Dustan Forschen48.518.5White Bear
3David Rask46.516.5White Bear
4Todd Lindberg46.516.5Bald Eagle
5Jordan Swanson4616Minnetonka
6Marty Oian4414White Bear
7 Dan Altman42.512.5Minnetonka
8Mark Keuther4212Forest Lake
9Paul Kramer4212Bald Eagle
10Chris Fusco4212Harriet
11Sadie Maas4212Minnetonka
12Trevor Anker4212Minnetonka
13Steven Lundberg41.511.5Bald Eagle
14Marc Jefferson4111Minnetonka
15John Newman4010Independence
16Wade Carlson4010Independence
17Randy Anderson4010Forest Lake
1Dawson Johnson40, 4121Harriet